Embu County government has sworn in a new Public Service Board, following successful vetting by the County assembly. The Board will be chaired by Mr. Alfred Kamau Mugai, with Ms Jane Marigu Wachira as the CEO cum Secretary. This was after the expiry of the former Board officials’ six year term. The ceremony, hosted by the County Secretary Mr. Johnson N. Nyaga, took place at the Governor’s boardroom on 31 July 2019.

The oath of office was administered by Mr. David N Njoroge, an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya and witnessed by the County Executive Committee member in charge of Public Service, Administration and Devolution Mr. David Kariuki. The officers were appointed by the Governor through a competitive process then vetted and approved by the County Assembly of Embu.

The Board was sworn in to office according to Article 232 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and the Public Service Code of Conduct. Swearing that Section 3 of the Official Secrets Act Cap 187 Laws of Kenya had been explained to them, the public officers committed to serve with diligence, faithfulness and justice to all. They vowed to discharge their duties with confidentiality, decorum and professionalism.

Three additional members; Ms. Poline Rwamba, Mr. Peter Kathiga Njeru and Ms. Rose Evelyne Njoki Njagi were also sworn into office to join Mr. Peterson Muthathai and Mr. Jesse Njeru Kithaka who were also present. Ms Poline Rwamba was unanimously appointed the Vice chair. Addressing the Board, the County Secretary quoted the Holy Bible in the book of Luke 12:41-48, urging the officers to consider themselves stewards in service to the people on behalf of their master. In his closing remarks, CECM Kariuki echoed the County Secretary’s words and reminded all to observe Chapter 6 of the Constitution, on the Ethics and Integrity Act, emphasizing on observance of corporate responsibility and governance.