Eight professionals were sworn in as members of the inaugural Embu Municipality Board.

The board’s core mandate involves promoting and undertaking infrastructural development and services within the municipality as delegated by the county government.

Kenneth Mwige, an advocate and a former executive director at Commission on Administrative Justice, was sworn in as the chairman, while Emily Wawira, a surveyor, will deputize him.

In accordance with the Urban Areas and Cities Act No.13 of 2011 and the Embu Municipal Charter, 2018, four members were appointed by the Governor through a competitive process, while the rest were nominated by registered groups.

The members include Simon Mureithi, managing director of Mukasi Builders Ltd, who was nominated by Kenya National Chamber of Commerce and Industry; Grace Murugi, a businesswoman nominated by The Youth Alliance; and Benjamin Murungaru, a retired civil servant nominated by Association of Informal Settlers, Embu chapter. Other members are Dr. Esther Wanja, a lecturer at JKUAT; Susan Miru, a secondary school deputy principal; and Bernard Nthiga, a project coordinator at ACK Kathiga Gaceru. The ninth member, Dr. Joe Muriithi, is a senior lecturer at Kenyatta University and was nominated by associates of physically disabled persons of Kenya. He did not, however, appear for vetting. He informed the County Assembly that he was unavailable as he had been appointed for another engagement.

The Assembly Committee, led by John Gichovi, advised the County Executive to nominate another person to meet the requirement of nine members as per the Embu Municipal Charter, 2018.

In his message after the eight were sworn in, Governor Martin Wambora expressed confidence that the team would deliver. Counties are required to have such boards in place to benefit from the Sh30 billion grant by the World Bank.