Embu County lies some 120 kilometers northeast of Nairobi, on the south-eastern side of Mount Kenya. The county covers an area of 2,818 square kilometers. The county borders Tharaka Nithi to the North, Kitui to the east, Machakos to the south, Murang’a to the southwest and Kirinyaga to the West.
Also known as Kirimari, meaning the top of the hill in Kiembu, Embu town in Manyatta Constituency serves as the county’s administrative capital.

How to get to Embu County
You can travel to Embu County from Nairobi, through Makutano – Mwea route, and access the county through Embu town. You may also use the Thika-Garissa highway and gain access through Kiritiri. Public transport plying these routes is found at Tea-room station or Machakos country bus terminus in Nairobi. Embu County can also be accessed privately by air, using Embu airstrip, now being upgraded to public airport status or Masinga airstrip near Mwea National Reserve.

Guest Information
Embu town has 8 banks and over 10 microfinance institutions. These include Barclays, Bank of Africa, Faulu, Diamond Trust Bank, K.C.B, Equity, Cooperative Bank, National Bank, Family Bank, Jitegemea, Jamii Bora, Bimas among others. Banking services are also available in other major towns within the county. Equity bank is available in Runyenjes and Cooperative bank in Siakago.


All major towns in Embu County have stores, shops, and open-air markets. Embu town has the widest shopping variety with Megastores such as Magunas, Kasturi, Maathai’s, Naivas, Jatomy as well as a large open-air market where a variety of agricultural products are sold.